Paula – I didn’t know you were the Dooney & Bourke police !!

Paula, I have four Donney & Bourke Sherpa Style packs. The reason I am contacting you is because I am putting them on EBay and came across your web site. Seeing the quality of what’s there I thought I would offer the whole lot to you. if you have any interest I could send pictures. All four of the packs are 13/14/51/4. I have had them for about 12-13 years. M

Hi M,

Here is the info on how we purchase bags

http://www.horsekeeping.com/Dooney/Dooney-Bourke-buying.htm

Paula

Dooney and Bourke All-Weather Hand Bag

To horsekeeping

jjjjeeeezzz guys I just wanted a little direction, I didn’t know you were the DB police. i put one bag up on ebay and you gutted me!!

I went to the blog and see you guys take this real serious. Tell Paula I may have bought these bags a few years ago in good faith, but now I can rest easier knowing the ebay police are all over me. I guess a leg up from you guys is out of the question!!!

I remain, with a since of trepidation.  M

Dear M.

We do not visit eBay nor do we do any business there.

If photos of a bag like yours appeared on our blog it was because a potential buyer sent them to us asking for our opinion. We receive many requests every day.

Yes, we do take authenticating vintage Dooney & Bourke All Weather Leather bags very seriously. The blog is to help both buyers and sellers know what is authentic and what is not.

We would be happy to look at your bags before you list them. It is a free service. We do it just as a means to help.  So yes, we would give you a “leg up” as you say !!  That is the purpose of the blog.

We do not go to eBay looking for fake bags. If someone sends us photos, we do not know where they come from. The photos are usually of someone’s personal bag or the photos could be from any number of sites including eBay, Goodwill, etsy and other auction and selling sites.

Best of luck !!

Paula

((Never got a reply))

This blog is a labor of love of vintage All Weather Leather Dooneys and I am always glad to help with identifying and authenticating bags free of charge. It is my way of contributing to the knowledge base out there in hopes it helps prevent fraudulent sales from occurring.
Many of the answers are already on our website or this blog, so enjoy your browsing !
You can always buy authentic Dooney & Bourke bags on our website.
http://www.horsekeeping.com/Dooney/Dooney-Bourke.htm
Paula

Dooney and Bourke All-Weather Vintage Flap Bag with coin purse

 

 

Leave a comment